A Little Better

“…A dense fog fills our valley this morning.  I drove the kids to school despite my truck lights that work some days, but not all.”

Something like that rolled around in my head.  I can’t quite remember, but I intended to write something that started with the fog (it was an analogy to my heart and soul’s confusion and sadness) as an early morning warm-up post.

But the day pushed on before I had a chance to write.  I looked up screenplay contests.  Shorts.  Right now I am looking for contests that specialize in shorts.  I found one or two on the WITHOUTABOX website.

I have one new short.  I want to clean it up this week and enter it somewhere.  And I have another short I started, but couldn’t remember the punch line.  I had a dream the night before: Someone knocks on a door and drives this guy (the lead) nuts and then it ends up to be…. I couldn’t remember the end.   And what I did remember wasn’t funny after I woke up.  I wrote it anyway.   Two days later, I think I have an idea that will work, but wasn’t part of the dream.  I meant to write it today.

But I didn’t.

Here’s what I did.

  • looked up contests ( as I said)
  • took my youngest daughter to the doctor for an annual check up and to get her flu and HEP A shots. (She was none too thrilled).
  • wrote out bills.
  • Laundry, straightening, urged and cajoled for Nick to do his homework.
  • Found out I owe a HUGE medical bill that I was not aware of before today. (Where’s that dough gonna come from — ?  crap.
  • Emailed J to let him know the bad news.
  • Picked up my daughter from school.
  • More laundry
  • Went to my 11-year-old son’s orchestra concert with my buddy, my youngest daughter.
  • Warmed up leftovers for dinner.
  • Cleaned up.
  • Cleaned litter box.
  • poured my second glass of cheap vodka and Welch’s grape juice

and here I am.

Now.

p.s.  the fog cleared and as usual, it became a sunny, glorious autumn day.  So — Where’s the story, morning glory?  Tomorrow, I will finish the other short and then…  rip into the feature.

About Fringe Details

I write spec screenplays. Mum of five awesome people and caretaker of 6 chickens, five cats and one smelly dog. View all posts by Fringe Details

Leave a Reply

